List of all T20 Cricket World Cup winners till 2021

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 is ready to commence from October 17 in the UAE and Oman. Get ready to celebrate the biggest Cricket extravaganza and watch the T20 World Cup live on YuppTV, the biggest OTT platform for streaming Indian content. 

Ahead of the start of the tournament, let’s check out the winners in each season. 


South Africa hosted the inaugural T20 World Cup amid many expectations. Twelve teams took part in this mega event which went on to change the face of cricket in the future. Dhoni-led India won the final match against arch-rival Pakistan in an intense final-over thriller. Needed 13 off 6 balls in the final over, although Misbah-ul-Huq slammed Joginder Sharma for a six on the second ball, fell for him while trying for a scoop shot on the next ball. This is India’s major ICC trophy after the 83 World Cup triumph and etched in every Indian cricket fan for obvious reasons. Young India winning the 2007 T20 World Cup in Johannesburg revived Indian cricket and transformed the team into a dominant force in world cricket. 


After the humiliating 2007 final loss against arch-rival India, Pakistan under the captaincy of Younis Khan won the 2010 T20 World Cup against Sri Lanka in a sigh of relief to erase the distressing memories of 2007 final. Shahid Afridi aggression with the bat and Shoaib Malik calm at the other end helped Pakistan to chase 138 in the 18th over. Sri Lanka was unbeatable throughout the tournament but fell short on the big day. Tillakaratne Dilshan was declared as the Player of the series. 


England won the third season of the T20 World Cup against mighty Australia. England dominated the series throughout and won their first world title in Cricket. Chasing a target of 147, English batters Craig Kieswetter, Kevin Pietersen, Paul Collingwood and Eion Morgan helped the team clinch the trophy. Pietersen was awarded the player of the tournament for his batting heroics. 


West Indies domination in the shorter format of the game began with this win. Marlon Samuels attacked Malinga and played the best innings of his life. Windies were 32/2 in 10 overs, but Samuels aggressive batting helped the team put 137 on board. Chasing 137, Sri Lanka had no clue to handle Sunil Narine and lost their second final. 


Sri Lanka endured their final phobias and won the fifth edition of the T20 World Cup against India. Sangakkara scored a brilliant half-century in his farewell match, and quick runs by Thisara Perera broke the jinx and gave a memorable victory in Sanga and Mahela’s final T20 match. 


‘Carlos Braithwaite – Remember the name’ still echoes in the mind of every cricket fan. Chasing England’s 159, Marlon Samuels and Dwayne Bravo repeated 2012, but Braithwaite (34 in 10 balls) turned the game single-handedly. 

Watch ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 live on YuppTV and experience the T20 cricket thrill and excitement.